Architectural reviews of Steiner House say it is one of the most outstanding examples of colonial design still in existence.
Stephen Steiner built the original home in 1807, as a home for his family. The original portion of Steiner House was small with two first floor rooms and two stairways leading to two bedrooms on the second floor. There were three fireplaces, including the hearth in the kitchen provided heating and was used for cooking.
With a growing family and more social obligations, Steiner built a much grander addition to the front of his home. It included a beautiful front door with an unusual elliptical heading using glass of delicate lead tracing of flowers and tiny pineapples, denoting colonial hospitality. The original marble steps are still in place.
Entering the gracious colonial hallway, visitors can see a lofty fluted white arch above and a graceful mahogany and maple staircase leading to the second and third floors. There are two bedrooms on the second floor, and a small sitting room that connects to the original part of the house.
On the first floor, to the left, is a large double parlor, divided by wooden doors. The floors are still the original boards. The bricks used in the home are laid in Flemish Bond, having alternate ends and sides of the bricks exposed. Many reports said the bricks were actually made on the premises.
In the mid-1960s, the Garden Club of Frederick designed and installed a garden and patio areas at the side and rear of the house. This work brought the Garden Club several awards.
A few years later, a section of the garden became home to the historic Marie Diehl Memorial Fountain.
This article would not be possible without the research and documentation by FWCC club member Dr. Frances A. Randall.